Indian Culture

12 Core & Strong Beliefs Of Hinduism


12 Core & Strong Beliefs Of Hinduism | Facts About Hindu Religion & Beliefs : Hinduism is not an organized religion and has no single, systematic approach to teaching its value system. Nor do Hindus have a simple set of rules to follow like the Ten Commandments. Local, regional, caste, and community-driven practices influence the interpretation and practice of beliefs throughout the Hindu world.

Yet a common thread among all these variations is belief in a Supreme Being and adherence to certain concepts such as Truth, dharma, and karma. And belief in the authority of the Vedas (sacred scriptures) serves, to a large extent, as the very definition of a Hindu, even though how the Vedas are interpreted may vary greatly.

Here are some of the key beliefs shared among Hindus:

1. Truth is Eternal.

Hindus pursue knowledge and understanding of the Truth: the very essence of the universe and the only Reality. According to the Vedas, Truth is one, but the wise express it in a variety of ways.

2. Brahman is Truth and Reality.

Hindus believe in Brahman as the one true God who is formless, limitless, all-inclusive, and eternal. Brahman is not an abstract concept; it is a real entity that encompasses everything (seen and unseen) in the universe.

3. The Vedas Are The Ultimate Authority.

The Vedas are Hindu scriptures that contain revelations received by ancient saints and sages. Hindus believe that the Vedas are without beginning and without end; when everything else in the universe is destroyed (at the end of a cycle of time), the Vedas remain.

4. Everyone Should Strive To Achieve Dharma.

Understanding the concept of dharma helps you understand the Hindu faith. Unfortunately, no single English word adequately covers its meaning. Dharma can be described as right conduct, righteousness, moral law, and duty. Anyone who makes dharma central to one’s life strives to do the right thing, according to one’s duty and abilities, at all times.

5. Individual Souls Are Immortal.

A Hindu believes that the individual soul (atman) is neither created nor destroyed; it has been, it is, and it will be. Actions of the soul while residing in a body require that it reap the consequences of those actions in the next life — the same soul in a different body.

The process of movement of the atman from one body to another is known as transmigration. The kind of body the soul inhabits next is determined by karma (actions accumulated in previous lives). Learn more about Hindu funeral customs.

6. The Goal Of The Individual Soul Is Moksha.

Moksha is liberation: the soul’s release from the cycle of death and rebirth. It occurs when the soul unites with Brahman by realizing its true nature. Several paths can lead to this realization and unity: the path of duty, the path of knowledge, and the path of devotion (unconditional surrender to God).

7. Belief In Karma.

Hinduism believes that what we are now is the result of our Karma in the past life. The Karma is what we do in our life. The good things we do is called good Karma and the bad things we do is called as bad Karma or sin. Those who do bad Karma, suffer in their present life as well as their coming life until they get punished for their bad Karma. So, as a human being we should always do good Karma, so that our present life and coming life be happy.

Depending on our past life Karma, our soul enters the body of the human being or another species like animals, birds, etc.

8. What We Eat Is What We Are.

As told by Lord Krishna (and accepted by the scientists worldwide now), we tend to become what we eat. The food is divided in three categories:

  1. Rajasi.
  2. Satvik.
  3. Tamasi.

9. Parents, Teacher, And Food Are Next To God.

Hindus believe that parents, teacher, and food are next to God. Parents give us birth, nurture us, teach us values. Teachers gives us knowledge to survive in this world. Food is the thing by which we all live. Therefore, these three things have utmost importance and reverence in Hinduism.

10. Live in Harmony With Nature.

don’t harm the mother earth. take care of birds, plants and all living beings. be compassionate to all living beings. be vegetarian and be non-violent. don’t harm anybody even in your thoughts forget about in actions. but to save dharma you can fight with oppressors. don’t spoil water bodies, don’t do air pollution or noise pollution. thats the reason hindus avoided the aeroplanes way back. because the noise of aeroplanes was creating disturbance in ethers.

11. Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam.

which means the world is one family. don’t think of just yourself and your immediate family. the whole earth is one big family. the people who are dying today in iraq, yemen or anywhere in the world, could be your relatives in previous lives. so whenever possible share your abundance with less privileged people. don’t hoard much. don’t waste things. share whatever you can. we all have something to share. it could be love, wealth, knowledge or just a simple smile. share and it will grow. hoard and it will reduce.

12. Satyam Shivam Sundaram 

Very important because god has all these three qualities and following any of these 3 qualities with totality you can realize god. lets see what they are. satyam means truth, shivam means consciousness and sundaram is beauty. so always speak truth and defend it at any cost. consciousness comes via meditation. be more conscious of your thoughts, actions and emotions. sundaram is beauty. so be creative and artistic. see beauty in everything.

create a beautiful world (very important in current time as we are creating a very bad world for future generations). see beauty within and outside. that means when you look at a women look with love but not with lust. that love could be of a brother, son, father. because another important principal is except your wife all other women are your mother, sister or daughters. so be loving and protective.